Falling Short and Starting Over

Image

Ok…so I didn’t complete my 30 days of Thanks blogs, or my 31 days of Change project on Facebook like I had wanted to, but I have some good reasons. Thanksgiving about knocked me out. I was very busy this year with trying to take over for my mother, due to her health issues. And then I came down with a sinus infection which I thought was an ear infection because of the pain I was having. Add in work, Christmas shopping, wrapping, trying to keep track of dates, times, and money and I just couldn’t keep up. It was a crazy few weeks for me. It seemed everyone wanted something from me, and I just had nothing to give because of not feeling well.

But, the new year is here! Welcome 2014, I hope you are ready for me because I have plans for you! One of my biggest goals for this year is to take control of my health. I need to be healthier. I have signed up for a gym membership http://www.planetfitness.com/  (and if the roads hadn’t been so bad today, I would have been there…), and am trying to cut a lot of the bad things from my diet. I am educating myself on foods and why they are bad for me. I have already cut out McDonald’s completely because I heard a lot of bad things about the meat they feed us http://politicalblindspot.com/hamburger-chef-jamie-oliver-proves-mcdonalds-burgers-unfit-for-human-consumption/ . I would like to lose around 30lbs and gain over all strength. I am not very physically strong, and it’s time to change that.

Not only do I want to strengthen my body, but I would also like to get the most out of my brain. I want to boost my creativity, learn new things and read more. I just started reading The Secret http://thesecret.tv/ and I am almost done with the Happiness Project http://gretchenrubin.com/. My projects and my art work also deserve a chunk of my time.

My boyfriend and I have also started saving for our wedding. No, we are not engaged yet, but why wait till then to start saving? That will just make it take longer. We have a giant jar full of all of our change, and Friday we will each be starting a 52 week money challenge http://www.digtriad.com/news/article/263861/1/52-Week-Money-Challenge-Save-About-1400-In-2013. We are thinking it will take us both saving for about 2 years to have the wedding that we want to have. I can’t wait to be his wife!

Saving for my dream wedding this year isn’t my only money goal, I will also continue to pay down my debt, so that once I have married Kyle we can afford things like a home or a car. I started paying down my student loan in November and I will keep working on that so that I can go back and make something better of myself. I am also going to try to start paying down my medical bills one at a time. It’s sad that all of my credit is bad credit because of medical bills. That is something I am hoping to prevent in the future by getting healthier.

Organizing my life and improving my space are also some areas I would like to focus on. I get less frustrated and my life runs better when things are organized and I am happy to be in the space I am in. I’d like to get the rest of the upstairs painted this year, before I move out of my parents house. Hopefully this will be the last year I will be living here.

My final major goal is to build my relationship with God. I found a church that I finally feel has beliefs in line with mine http://242community.com/. I just bought a new Bible as a gift to myself and I’d like to be baptized, since being baptized was a spiritual choice my parents left up to me.

I’m sure I also have a million other small goals that I will add to this list, but it’s late and I have to try to get to work in the snow in the morning. I will be posting a 2014 bucket list later on, so stay posted.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About atinababy8808

***I'm a pretty awesome 20-something from Detroit. I love art, fashion, music, Sons of Anarchy and whiskey. Coupons and free samples are amazing! I struggle with anxiety and depression on a pretty regular basis. I'm learning new things every day and gaining some independence. Follow me on twitter too @atinababy8808.***

Leave a Reply

